Syllable Forum Index Syllable
Syllable Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Time to give up?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Syllable Forum Index -> Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DavidMcCann



Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 15
Location: London

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 11:41 am    Post subject: Time to give up? Reply with quote

It seems the only way Syllable will run on my computer is with the live-CD version!

Version 0.6.5 on the Premium CD was unstable, and upgrading to 0.6.6 seemed to make things worse, so I downloaded and installed 0.6.6. I have installed that twice, but I still have trouble with it, and things seem to be degrading. After 15 minutes of trying to start Syllable this afternoon, I'm sending this from Haiku Sad

When I try to start Syllable, any of the following may happen:
1. a total lock-up with a black screen
2. the system stops during the initialisation routine, displaying the last screen used by a working OS with some garbage at the top
3. the computer resets during the initialisation
4. I can log in, only to find no panel and a lock-up if I click any desk-top icon

I looked at the kernel log using the live-CD version, but there were no obvious error messages: things just stopped. I couldn't save the contents because
1. the live-CD version wouldn't mount a USB memory stick
2. Syllable can't write to my Linux partitions
3. I don't have any floppies

So, this is where I give up Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skywaker



Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 12:22 pm    Post subject: virtualbox is the way Reply with quote

I think you can install Syllable to VirtualBox.. Its very easy and fast way to make your work and play with syllable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about that, David. It would seem that Syllable has problems with the hardware in your computer, although from your earlier posts I thought you were getting farther than this. Have you tried installing 0.6.6 with failsafe options? If the live CD works but not an installation, the hard disk or its controller may be the problem. You could try the No DMA option, or the Failsafe option to rule out multiple things.

There is no particular reason that the live CD wouldn't mount USB sticks. What went wrong there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Vanders
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 849

PostPosted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sorry to hear you're having problems with Syllable. Can I ask you to list your hardware configuration? It may be a bug that is specific to your hardware, and we may be able to suggest ways to work around it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DavidMcCann



Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 15
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I decided to have a go and see if I could get you some useful information.

The initial installation of 0.6.5 was more or less OK, though it din't always shut down properly. The upgrade to 0.6.6 produced more frequent problems, and the installation of 0.6.6 (which I expected to be better than the upgrade) has been worst.

My system is
Asrock K7S41GX motherboard
AMIBIOS P2.00 (LBA on, DMA auto, quick boot enabled, block mode 0)
SiS 5513 IDE controller
Seagate Baracuda ST34001 4A HD

I've just re-installed, and the subsequent boots went like this:

1-3. System froze on closing the window notifying me that the network needed configuration.
4-5. System froze after configuring the network.
6. Re-set halfway through boot.
7. Boot failed with black screen.
8. Successful log-in, but Webster failed to contact the internet; it did manage to get as far as my router, whose diagnostic was OK. Tried installing ABrowse, and system locked up.
9. Got as far as log-in, but no panel.
10. Boot ended with screenful of garbage.
11. as (9)

I had made a copy of the kernel log for the successful boot at stage (4), so I tried loading the live-CD version to get access to the log from stage (11). At the first attempt, the system locked on trying to mount the USB memory. I've managed to get hold of a floppy, so I tried again and successfully mounted that.

When I got back to Linux and compared the two kernel logs, they were identical and contained 502 lines.

I hope this may be of some use to you: it's all I can manage!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, not terribly much changed in 0.6.6 that could cause this. I think we have a new ACPI version; have you tried disabling that?

What's your video chip?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DavidMcCann



Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 15
Location: London

PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The video is SiS Ś I think the model number is 741.

I've just spent this evening making two further experiments. Firstly I tried version 0.6.6 in "fail-safe" mode. The results on re-booting were

1. Reboot after setting the eth0 configuration, which was not saved.
2. Lock-up after setting eth0.
3-5. Reboot during start-up.
6. Able to log in, but no panel.

I then re-installed version 0.6.5. It rebooted when I set eth0, but then worked normally. I couldn't post to this board, but that may not be me, for other sites worked.

The problem obviously came in with 0.6.6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vanders
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 849

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try booting Syllable 0.6.6 with the additional kernel parameter "disable_agp=true" and see if that helps. The SiS AGP driver probably didn't get much testing at the time and you may be the first to have tried 0.6.6 on an SiS based system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We didn't ship the chip-specific AGP drivers yet, but indeed the general AGP driver may be the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm, we don't have a failsafe menu for disabling AGP anymore. Does that kernel parameter still work with the new AGP driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
demetrioussharpe



Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Kaj"]We didn't ship the chip-specific AGP drivers yet, but indeed the general AGP driver may be the problem.[/quote]

The basic AGP busmanager is useless without the chip-specific drivers. It just sits idly waiting for the HCDs to call attach_bridge(). If this is never called, then nothing ever happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
demetrioussharpe



Joined: 22 Oct 2007
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Kaj"]Hm, we don't have a failsafe menu for disabling AGP anymore. Does that kernel parameter still work with the new AGP driver?[/quote]

Yes, it does. But, without any chip-specific drivers, there's nothing to disable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks; I'll add an AGP failsafe mode to the boot menu.

It would be nice if development and testing of the chip specific drivers could continue again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The AGP disable option will be in the next development build (as will the AGP drivers).

Moved this to Bugs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a new development build that can be used to test AGP compatibility. It has the drivers and the disable option at boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Syllable Forum Index -> Bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group