Syllable Forum Index Syllable
Syllable Forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Configuring ISA sound card SB AWE

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Syllable Forum Index -> Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ed



Joined: 01 May 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 10:57 pm    Post subject: Configuring ISA sound card SB AWE Reply with quote

Hello again XD. (edited)

I forgot to say it before, my soundcard is an ISA SB Awe-Gold.
It was easy to config in GNU/Linux with isapnptools and other apps but...
What about ISA support in Syllable? I see the Multimedia audio output as
"unknown" so that stands for "no detected" I think.

(Sorry if this question is asked before in the forum, I did some searchs and
I didn't find any about ISA suport, just for PCI SoundBlaster compatible cards.
Thank you Smile


Last edited by Ed on Wed May 05, 2010 5:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We try to use separate threads for different topics as much as possible, so I split and moved your post.

Syllable has no full support for ISA Plug & Play such as ISAPNPTools in Linux. ISA was on the way out when Syllable was starting. I used to have an AWE. I remember it was not far on the heels of the very first ISA cards with PNP, so even support in Windows depended on custom drivers. However, Syllable's basic SoundBlaster driver covers many cards that are compatible. I would expect the AWE to work with it, although it won't support all the extra features.

The "unknown" in the Media Preferences doesn't bode well, but what does the Device tab in Syllable Info say?

Actually getting sound from a detected card is currently a bit unintuitive in Syllable, because you have to fiddle with the volume settings. Have you read the section in the Welcome document about that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ed



Joined: 01 May 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

System Information -> Devices:

- System devices
PCI->ISA Bridge
PCI Host Bridge
- Audio devices
Soundblaster Pro


Kernel log output:

0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/emu10k1 on bu
s pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/es1370 on bus
pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/es1371 on bus
pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/hda on bus pc
i is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/i8xx on bus p
ci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/maestro on bu
s pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : device_init: Initializing device
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_init: Initializing SBPro dsp.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Resetting device.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Reset OK.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_init: DSP version 4.16.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/trident on bu
s pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/via686a on bu
s pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/vt82xx on bus
pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Device /boot/system/drivers/dev/audio/ymfpci on bus
pci is disabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Error: device /boot/system/drivers/dev/acpi_cpu fai
led to initialize itself
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : Error: device /boot/system/drivers/dev/battery fail
ed to initialize itself
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_open: Opening device.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_init: Initializing SBPro dsp.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Resetting device.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Reset OK.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_init: DSP version 4.16.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Resetting device.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Reset OK.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_set_irq: Setting up irq 7.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : IRQ 7 enabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_close: Closing device.
0:registrar::registrar : Registrar running at port 2


The Stream Volumes in Media: the first tab is empty cause "OSS (Unknown)"
and the "Stream" tab has one Master volume.

EDIT: I have this another entry In "System Info -> Devices":
-Unknown/Unsupported devices
PCI 0x8086 0x7113

I have only 3 cards attached, the video AGP, the network ethernet PCI
(detected as Realtek 8139) and the AWE ISA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Morph
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 316
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks to me like your soundcard is detected and should be working... the 'Unknown' device is an "Intel PIIX4/4E/4M Power Management Controller", according to pcidatabase.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ed



Joined: 01 May 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Morph. You are right, I get some noise trying to open a Vorbis
audio file with ColdFish. The player goes frozen then. The same using
the MediaPlayer. Vlc audio doesn't work.

So the AWE is detected but doesn't work properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it correct that the IRQ is at 7? Many cards have it at 5 by default. I think there's a file where you can set it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ed



Joined: 01 May 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some lines of the last AWE sndconfig used in Linux:

alias sound-slot-0 snd-sbawe
options sound dmabuf=1
options opl3 io=0x388
alias synth0 awe_wave
options sb io=0x220 irq=5 dma=1 dma16=5 mpu_io=0x330
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See, the IRQ is at 5, at least when configured in Linux.

Looking in our SB driver, it hardcodes the IRQ to 7, and it doesn't look like it allows PnP to influence that. This may well be the problem.

Now there are a number of questions. We don't know for sure that the IRQ is actually at 5, because that's the result of PnP in Linux. How is your BIOS set? There's usually a PnP OS option. If that's on, turn it off, so that the BIOS configures the card. Syllable configures PCI cards, but not ISA.

Now if the IRQ remains at 5, you can look for a BIOS option to switch off the printer port. That occupies IRQ 7 by default, so freeing it up may get the BIOS to move the SB to it.

If you're lucky, your BIOS allows you to override PnP settings, so you may be able to assign IRQ 7 to the slot the SB is in.

If all that fails, you could recompile the SB driver with a different IRQ setting. If you're determined to use your machine for the next ten years, you could copy some code from the NE2000 network driver to implement a configuration file with an IRQ setting. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ed



Joined: 01 May 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok.
-"Plug & Play Aware O/S" was set to "No".
-Parallel Port IRQ was in "Auto" so I disabled the Onboard Parallel Port freeing
the IRQ 7 assigned to printer as first auto option.

I can assign DMA Channels (0-7) and IRQs to PCI/PnP or ISA/EISA. I tested
firstly with IRQ 7 to ISA and later with DMA 1 and 5 to ISA as well without changes
in the behavior of the AWE in Syllable.

It seems the card insist to use the IRQ 5 and I have to use the source
code option as last resort (or find out any other PCI compatible soundcard,
lol). I have to read some documentation before to deal with the code in
Syllable. I'm not a programmer but this can be a nice way to learn more
about Syllable Desktop.

Thank you very much Kaj for your helpful replies Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Sat May 08, 2010 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a computer shop around the time your computer stems from, so this is a blast from the past for me. Smile

Modifying the driver would indeed be a very nice introduction to Syllable development. You only have to change the SB_IRQ number in this file:

http://syllable.cvs.sourceforge.net/viewvc/syllable/syllable/system/sys/kernel/drivers/sound/sbpro/sbpro.h?view=markup

To recompile the driver, go to the development web site and read the tutorial "How to start developing" and in the Builder manual the section about building system modules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ed



Joined: 01 May 2010
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done. The new module loads well but doesn't solve the problem:

0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_open: Opening device.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_init: Initializing SBPro dsp.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Resetting device.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Reset OK.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_init: DSP version 4.16.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Resetting device.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_dsp_reset: Reset OK.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_set_irq: Setting up irq 5.
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : IRQ 5 enabled
0:mediaserver::mediaserver : sb_close: Closing device.

The Default audio output options in Media are the same as before:
- Media Server - OSS (Unknown)
- OSS (Unknown)
There are no volume controls in Stream volumes, only the Master
volume in Stream tab. I think the error is the same as the one here
with other driver:
http://forum.syllable.org/viewtopic.php?t=1325
http://forum.syllable.org/viewtopic.php?t=1220

I launched the Media app with strace and I don't understand the output
but this line is repeated 5 times:
0:Media::Media : ---->> -2 = open("/dev/audio/mixer/sbpro", 0x2, (? 2281778320))

There is no "mixer" dir in my /dev (only /dev/audio/sbpro) and it seems to be
needed by the Stream Volumes of the Media application. Could be this missing
device node the problem?

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kaj
The Knights of Syllable


Joined: 14 Sep 2007
Posts: 2207
Location: Friesland

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a pity, but good job on recompiling the driver, and on your research.

You most likely did fix the IRQ problem, but are now hitting the next. Several of the older sound drivers have indeed been broken since the new audio framework. The situation is still as concluded in the second bug report you linked: several drivers are incomplete, and the fix is no more than adapting them to the newer audio framework, but nobody has ever stepped forward to spend any time on it. The decisive error messages are these:

0:mediaserver::mediaserver : SNDCTL_DSP_GETOSPACE: No implemented
0:mediaserver::media_server_flush : es1370_ioctl: ENTER, Command: 1074020375
0:mediaserver::media_server_flush : SNDCTL_DSP_GETODELAY: No implemented

So the current audio framework needs a few more driver commands that the older drivers don't have yet. This must be why the mixer device is missing, and that's indeed why the audio preferences can't offer volume settings. Other than that, your card seems to be fully detected and set up. The "Unknown" is probably of no consequence, because that's usually read from the card through PCI Plug & Play, which can't be done for your card.

I'll move this to Bugs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Syllable Forum Index -> Bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group